Why haven’t more people found my site?

In part this site was created because people are asking that question about the websites, apps, and video they are creating.

Some websites are really popular and people find them and tell other people about them.

Some aren’t.

I’ll be co-leading a workshop later this month (March 2017) where people will be wanting answers to that question. Some won’t be happy that I send them away with more questions.

  • Have you told anyone the site exists?
  • Have you told the right people?
  • Have you told the right people at the right time?
  • Have you told them a few times?
  • Do you know who you audience is and whether they are (or would be) interested in your site?
  • Do you know what sites they are already interested in?
  • Are there other sites like yours that are getting better results?
  • What research did you do before you built the site?
  • What research are you continuing to do?
  • What assumptions are you working on?
  • What would success look like?
  • How will you know if you’ve achieved what you wanted to?
  • What do you want people to do when they find the site?
  • Who are the people most likely to recommend your site to lots of other people?
  • Have you thought about advertising?
  • What other things have you thought of?
  • Do you have time to commit to some further website development or promotion?
  • Do you know other people who could promote the site for you?

Some people will have tried lots of the right things and still not got the results they were hoping for.

…There will be lots more questions from the participants.

And some great answers too.


I first posted this page in March but didn’t expect (or get) many visitors.

I didn’t tell anyone I’d posted it.

Telling people definitely helps. So I’ll also tell you about something new and useful with a quote from and a link to Social Media Ministry Made Easy

Defining Reach and Engagement:  If I run out onto the pitch in a Champions League game with a banner that reads “Messi is the greatest player that ever played!” I may have “reached” 80,000 people with my message but I’ve not engaged them. If I can get even 1% of those fans to enter a dialog about who they consider to be the greatest player and I’m able to present my rationale for saying it is Messi, then I’ve engaged them.

From Social Media Ministry Made Easy, Chapter 9
http://mobileministryforum.org/social-media-ministry-made-easy/

Leave a comment